Fasting during Ramadan


I read this on Yasmin Mogahed’s Facebook and I thought it would be nice to share with everyone. It’s quite interesting because, I feel as though these days people only believe that fasting is the first level. It is in fact a combination of all three levels which are discussed below.

Imam al Ghazali writes about the following categories of fasting:

1- First level: Ordinary Fasting

this level requires abstention from three things: food, drink and sexual satisfaction. This is the minimum requirement and the reward is given accordingly.

2- Second level: special fasting

Keeping one’s ears, eyes, tongue, ahnds and feet free from sin. For such people just abstaining from the minimum requirement is not sufficient, thus they take care not to say, hear or do a wrong thing. As they restrain their organs from all kinds of prohibitions, they are rewarded accordingly.

3- Third level: Extra-special fasting

This fast involves abstaining from all unworthy thoughts, loves, desires and wishes in total disregard of everytihng except the thought and remembrance of Allah. This is the perfection of tawhid (oneness of Allah). One may physically be present in the world but the internal self is exclusively engaged towards Allah .

May we all be from amongst those who follow all three levels inshallah. Have a blessed Ramadan everyone!

Alya Alfaouri

One half of the Écharpe Mode blog, Alya is a 26 year old, Half Jordanian, Half Lebanese, American born, mother of 2. She has a B.S. in Diplomacy and International Relations from Seton Hall University. Alya has always been passionate about human rights and politics as well as fashion design, beauty, and art.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed